Writing Prompt: The Power of Names

(Based on Weekly Writing Challenge: The Power of Names)

I’ve always been called Tamie. It’s not a nickname, just “Tamie”. At first, I really didn’t cared about where I got my name, until I found out that it was a combination of my parents’ names, Tanya and Michael. Story goes that they didn’t want to give me a fancy and common name like Brittany, Margaret, and Jennifer, so they decided to combine their names and call me Tamie. So far, I haven’t met anyone yet with the same name as me, although I know that there’s also a “Tammy”.

Growing up, I didn’t hated my name. In fact, I liked the tomboyish vibe it gives, because I was the type who liked to climb trees, swim in our town river, and play ball with the neighborhood kids. There wasn’t a “no girls allowed” rule when we play, because our families were friends with each other. That’s how our childhood was, we were almost family with our friends.

There was no hateful relationship with my name, because I always seem to like it. I will always be the active, shy, and nerdy Tamie.

 

8065e5be20593a58a9ef889e56a7ec66

11 thoughts on “Writing Prompt: The Power of Names

  1. Pingback: The Wedding Paper: My name, your name, our name | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: [Weekly Writing Challenge] The power of its name… | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power Of Names | imagination

  6. Pingback: The 7th of June 1983 – Laurel, Delaware | Forgotten Correspondence

  7. Pingback: THE HASTY TRADITION | Hastywords

  8. Pingback: Withered Past | Stealing All the Sevens

  9. Pingback: Stuck on Conchiglie | litadoolan

  10. Pingback: DP Weekly Challenge : A 99 word story, “All’s in a Name” | Challenged for Words

  11. Pingback: ALIENORA: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE! NAMES… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

Leave a Reply

